Walks on the trails ::: caterpillars, fungi and ducks ::: enjoying the summer’s end

Summer is approaching to the end over here. We’ve been enjoying it with family get togethers and walks on the trails. And it’s been pretty warm here lately. Really, really warm. Too warm for me, personally, but everyone one else enjoys it, and soon it’ll be autumn, which will be nice! But first, we talk about the end of summer. There’s been a lot of picture moments lately. πŸ™‚

Happy Labor Day, by the way. I guess I just don’t feel the hype of holiday “weekends” since I usually work weekends, but Monday is usually one of my days off, so Happy Monday to me.

Well, two weeks ago on Saturday, my parents and I walked on a beautiful wooded trail after I got off work. We’ve been on this trail before.

October 2013
October 2013

 

This previous time two weeks ago was a good time. The sun was shining. It was a great afternoon.

We saw pretty flowers.
There was inspiration.
A little “photography” from me. Looking through.

 

We met this little guy. Awww.

 

“Hey! Nice weather we’re having.”

 

Yes… I got a nice small handful of photos of this yellow caterpillar. However, my Mom wanted to take more. This is a bench that th caterpillar is crawling on, and he started crawling down the side of the bench, and my Mom tried to move him back up to the top with her finger, but umm, that didn’t really work.

The caterpillar fell to the ground and went into his curled up “defense” mode. LOL.

Maybe he was tired of taking pictures? πŸ˜‰

My Mom responded to the situation simply by saying, “Oh! I’m sorry, little guy.” Ha.

 

“Look up!” my Dad said, but Mom looked a little higher.

 

There, we go! πŸ˜€

 

This was cool.

 

More, small fuzzy things. πŸ™‚

 

Colored fungi! Neat.

 

 

We also went out to eat to The Barn, a well-known family restaurant around here. They have ducks… but a lot of them were getting fed by others or just weren’t out when we were done with our meal. I did capture a good view of some pretty white ones, though.

 

For those of you who don’t think I get out into the sun very much… here’s your proof that I was outside all afternoon and early evening. πŸ˜€

 

 

It was a great way to spend my Saturday afternoon.

 

I do have more to write about, but that will have to wait, considering the fact that it is time for me to go home and prepare for my day tomorrow. I am happy that I was able to land a post on the first of the month. Perhaps there will be another one tomorrow. πŸ™‚

 

Until next time…

One thought on “Walks on the trails ::: caterpillars, fungi and ducks ::: enjoying the summer’s end

  1. That trail looks really neat. I went on a trail run today with some friends; I really love it because unlike a neighborhood, it’s a little adventure and you find cool stuff like those flowers and that weird tree. Glad your month is off to a good start and you were off work today :).

Leave a Reply

