Twenty things I’ve learned within the past year…

Hello!

I’m back to blogging again. I feel like I say that everytime there’s a gap in between my postings. I will have at least two blog posts today though. *gasp*

But I will be honest… I have been cheating on my blog with my JOURNAL this week. Yes, that’s write (hehe.). One of my 2014 New Years resolutions was to start journaling, again. I hadn’t really journaled since 2012. It turns out I’ve had A LOT on my mind lately. Lots of concerns. Lots of fears. Lots of funny, random stuff that I don’t care to share on Facebook. And right now, my journal has been more convenient since I can take it with me places, or I can jot down some thoughts right before bed, especially since I don’t have Internet set up at my apartment, and since I haven’t had too many “blogworthy” things happening lately.

Journaling feels so wonderful. 😀 Curse Facebook for separating me from it gradually throughout the years. Grrrr. I need to write! On paper. And since I’m left-handed, I need to get that pen ink on the side of my hand. I can’t wait to fill up the empty journals I’ve had lying around my apartment… and since my journaling is getting strong again, I don’t think that will be too long.

 

Anyways, for my first blog post today, I have been thinking about different things I’ve learned this past year. I know I said that 2013 wasn’t a “big” year for me as far as exciting things, special moments, memorable happenings, etc. However, it was a year of learning for me. I definitely learned a lot in 2013. I could probably name about fifty things, but today I’ll only mention twenty.

 

Twenty things I’ve learned within the past year.

1. If I need help with something, don’t continue to struggle. Ask for help.

2. Be careful who I open up to. There are people who can be evil with personal information. 😦

3. Take a break from the contact lenses at least once a week.

4. Relax! There is a solution to my dilemma, so relax.

5. Mopping is actually pretty soothing.

6. It’s okay to say “no,” even if someone tries to put a guilt trip on me for it.

7. One French fry can cause an aggressive stampede of ducks! Ha. 😀

8. Unfortunately, politeness is becoming rare that it’s sometimes mistaken for flirting. Ick.

9. Cry. Let it out. But don’t let the tears control me.

10. Take time to listen to the beautiful sound of freight trains going through downtown.

11. “What can wash away our sins? What can make us whole again? Nothing but the blood of Jesus.”

12. Stop expecting for “the one” to show up.

13. Be thankful. There will always be someone who has more than me, yet there will be someone who has less than me.

14. I am not here by accident.

15. Most of the time, it really is not worth the argument.

16. Stop trying to impress people. Just focus on my personal challenges.

17. Have integrity.

18. Make sure that I’m the one being the listener, more than the talker, in a conversation every now and then.

19. Backing into a police car may be frightening, yet there’s a huge relief that comes with seeing no damage on either car.

20. Stop playing the “shoulda, coulda, woulda” game. It’s done. It’s over. There’s nothing I can do about it. Move on.

2 thoughts on “Twenty things I’ve learned within the past year…

  1. Awww yay! I’m glad that you’re back in the blog again! 🙂
    I still journal, just not as much as I used to. I’m more of a “photo” journalist I suppose— in the fact that I post hundreds of photos on facebook every year documenting Little Man’s growth & our lives 🙂

    Have a great Sunday! IT’S THE SUPERBOWL & The Groundhog saw his shadow 🙂

    -mel

  2. Those are definitely great things to remember :). I’ve learned most of those too since graduating. I try not to feel guilty about saying no to things, and sometimes I do. I just stretch myself pretty thin! Glad things are going well for ya this year.

Leave a Reply

