093. Fourteen things that happened in 2004.

So… I was looking at my blog posts from August 2013. I wrote Ten Interesting Facts About 1987, my birth year. And then before that, I wrote a post about happenings in 2006, my high school graduation year.

I decided to think about events, news stories, blockbusters, and general happenings that happened ten years ago. And since this 2014, I thought I would post fourteen things about 2004. Lots of “oh, I remember that” moments.

Fourteen Things About the Year 2004

1. Popular movies or “films” included Shrek 2, Spider-Man 2, Passion of the Christ, The Day After Tomorrow, Shark Tale, The Incredibles, The Notebook, and Napoleon Dynamite.

jan01          jan02

   jan03

jan04

2. “Indian Ocean Tsunami: The Deadliest in History.”

On December 26, 2004, a 9.0 magnitude earthquake ruptured in the Indian Ocean, triggering the deadliest tsunami resulting in 200,000 deaths. 😦

The countries affected by the Indian Ocean Tsunami.
The countries affected by the Indian Ocean Tsunami.

jan06

3. Gasoline per gallon in 2004. *sniffle* (I didn’t even have my driver’s license yet!)

jan07

4.  President George W. Bush was re-elected in 2004, and his political candidate was Democrat John Kerry.

jan08

jan09

5. I definitely remember this Disney Channel actor & pop star “love triangle” involving Hilary Duff, Lindsay Lohan and Aaron Carter.

jan010

6. “Smash hits.” A lot of them are still playing on the radio, actually. I really don’t care for a lot of the music videos, though.

7. Popular toys for Christmas season in 2004 included Bratz dolls, Leapfrog, Nitendo DS, Tamagotchi, and Ticket to Ride board game.

jan011

jan013

      jan014

8. Popular cell phones from 2004.

jan015

9. The “Atkins Diet” had also gained popularity again in 2004… a very difficult challenge for me to follow. I gave up quickly! And I lost energy when I tried it. My personal problem though is sugar. I need to cut down on sugar. And calories. Tiny creatures that like to sew your clothes tighter and tighter. Evil calories. 😦

“You know something’s wrong with a diet when bacon is considered good for you, and an apple is considered bad.” (too bad bacon is yummy though!)

jan016

10. Hurricane Charley, a category 4 storm, hits Punta Gorda, FL in August.

jan017

11. Some T.V. shows that made their “debut” in 2004 were reality show Wife Swap, Ghost Hunters, Lost, Dancing with the Stars, and tons, tons more!

jan018

jan019

12. As far as fashion goes, Huffington Post recently published an article titled, “2014 Fashion Trends: Do The Biggest Trends Of 2004 Still Hold Up?” It’s pretty interesting.

Yeah, pretty much in 2004, I remember seeing a lot of Ugg boots, Daisy Dukes, straightened hair, etc. And I didn’t follow a lot of the fashion trends in ’04. I did my own thing.

jan020

It’s always nice to know how blue jeans will never be out of style.

It's always nice to know how blue jeans will never be out of style.

13. We saw the beginning of these businesses and products ten years ago.

jan022      jan023

The "ipod mini," available in five colors. I still haven't upgraded from the mp3 player. I'm content where I'm at. But I do remember these were in the collection of hot stuff!
The “ipod mini,” available in five colors.
I still haven’t upgraded from the mp3 player. I’m content where I’m at. But I do remember these were in the collection of hot stuff!
Oh, dear. I can STILL hear the commercial in my head... "Rip, slip, brush... Ahhh!"
Oh, dear.
I can STILL hear the commercial in my head… “Rip, slip, brush… Ahhh!”
"Say good-bye to bad snapshots with this 5.1 megapixel, pocket-size shooter." - from the HP website. It's funny how cameras have advanced a lot farther than 5.1 MP. I forget which MP mine is, but I haven't used it for a long time, which I need to do again. The camera on my phone is awesome, but not sharp enough!
“Say good-bye to bad snapshots with this 5.1 megapixel, pocket-size shooter.” – from the HP website.
It’s funny how cameras have advanced a lot farther than 5.1 MP. I forget which MP mine is, but I haven’t used it for a long time, which I need to do again. The camera on my phone is awesome, but not sharp enough!
Ah, yes! Shortly after these came out, you saw these rubber bracelets in every color and many, many different sayings.
Ah, yes! Shortly after these came out, you saw these rubber bracelets in every color and many, many different sayings.
"Two for the money." DualDisc Music CDs. One side contains a CD, whereas the other contains a DVD for music videos, interviews, etc. I have a small handful of these. They are a pretty good deal. :)
“Two for the money.”
DualDisc Music CDs.
One side contains a CD, whereas the other contains a DVD for music videos, interviews, etc.
I have a small handful of these. They are a pretty good deal. 🙂
Flat stuff was becoming more common... TVs, computers.
Flat stuff was becoming more common… TVs, computers.
Mmm... I love Coca-Cola, but I guess C2 wasn't their greatest "project." This new product lasted for three years.
Mmm… I love Coca-Cola, but I guess C2 wasn’t their greatest “project.”
This new product lasted for three years.
Haha. Oh, no! These things are too dangerous... for me. I took my first/last one in 2012, and umm, let's just say that my managers at work don't want me to consume one of these. Ever. Again.
Haha. Oh, no! These things are too dangerous… for me.
I took my first/last one in 2012, and umm, let’s just say that my managers at work don’t want me to consume one of these. Ever. Again.

14. Finally, one of my personal favorite things about 2004 was the Aurora Borealis lighting up the U.S. skies in November 2004.

Unfortunately, I did not get any personal pictures of this wonderful happening, and truthfully, I didn’t see many colors. I only saw some blue & green, and then I went to bed early for school the next day. Yes, I stuck to a regular bed time in high school. But I remember hearing later that week that if you stayed up late enough, you saw wonderful shades and colors.

I hope to see the Aurora Borealis again… the entire color range of it, too. But at least I got to see tiny part of it in 2004. I snatched wonderful views of it from a couple sites.

This just takes my breath away! I definitely want to see this.
This just takes my breath away! I definitely want to see this.
I would say that this is the CLOSEST to what I remember seeing (well, without the city lights, since I grew up in the country). But yeah, I remember very basic night sky with a hint of blue & green. :D
I would say that this is the CLOSEST to what I remember seeing (well, without the city lights, since I grew up in the country). But yeah, I remember very basic night sky with a hint of blue & green. 😀

Well… I hope this post wasn’t too out of the loop to look at. I just thought it’d be fun to see what happened ten years ago and to see any similarities or differences.

Thank you for traveling back to 2004 with me. Obviously I didn’t cover EVERYTHING, but I think I covered a good amount.

4 thoughts on “093. Fourteen things that happened in 2004.

  1. This “10 years ago” post made me giggle. It is definitely a look back. I remember the HIlary Duff, Lindsay Lohan & Aaron Carter Triangle. I loved most of those songs. I didn’t have a cell phone yet. We were in 10th grade. I had a tamigotchi & a bratz doll. I don’t remember the aurora borealis. I know I had braces. And I got contacts that year for the first time. I started using way too much make-up. I started going to the tanning bed with my mothers permission. LOL. Thanks for the great “looking back” post 🙂 It’d be great to do this every year!

    -Mel

    1. It would! I could do one for 2005, then 2007 since I’ve already done 2006. I didn’t have a cell phone yet either. My first phone was Christmas 2006… before that it was either the “house phone” or I borrowed my parents’ cell for work. Oh, I loved what I saw of the aurora borealis. I just wish I saw the whole thing. I envy people who did! I wore some eye makeup in high school… mostly darker shades of eyeshadow, mascara and powder. Haven’t worn much eye makeup lately. I never had a Bratz doll… I didn’t have a Tamigotchi, but I did have a “pocket kitty,” which was similar… the pocket kitty was in elementary school. Thanks for the good feedback! 😀

  2. This was a neat way to look back, although I’m pretty sure tamagotchi was 1997 or so ;). I loved the movie Napoleon Dynamite and had the DVD, I think it’s at my parents’ house.

    Clay cut carbs out for a bit to lose weight. I’m not sure if it was Atkins or what, it was mostly refined stuff. I’m mostly just working on cutting out whatever doesn’t make me feel good when I run and work out- so I still eat lots of carbs, the good kind 🙂

    1. I was wondering about the Tamigotchi! Oops. Well, maybe it came out in 1997, and then maybe 2004 was its peak year. I’ll look it up more sometime. 🙂
      Yeah, I had to cut out all kinda of carbs in 2008 for a physical situation, and I did lose 11 lbs. quickly, but not eating any carbs made me tired and cranky all the time. It wasn’t good. So yeah, less carbs will drop the weight off, but carbs are really important since they’re energy providers.
      And like you said, good carbs are important. I eat too much of the bad carbs, sadly. But the bad carbs are so delish!

Leave a Reply

