Hand soap for 50 cents ::: “jar project” for 2014

I did find some bliss yesterday. 13.5 fl. oz. of Gingerbread Cookie scented hand soap from Big Lots for 50 cents. πŸ™‚

Bliss!

It was part of their “final Christmas clearance” display. That made my afternoon yesterday.

So…. I’ve been hearing something about a “jar project” for 2014 on Facebook? Well, actually on New Years Eve, I noticed that some people posted a “2013 jar” filled with different things that happened to them and it’s something that’s supposed to go throughout the year. Then, on New Years Eve, those who do the jar project take out all the papers and read what the year held. You can write down both big and little things.

I think I’m going to join in for 2014. I have an empty, washed out jar that used to be filled with Ragu spaghetti sauce that I’ve kept for several months, not knowing what to do with it. I was planning on decorating it eventually, and I think I’ll do it for this “jar project.” πŸ˜€

Now I’ve heard there’s different ways of doing this project. There’s no right or wrong way.

You can write down happy and good things that happen to you.
You can write both good and bad things that happen to you, that kept you going throughout the year.
You can write down thoughts, hopes, dreams, concerns, worries, prayers, and praises.
You can write… whatever you want to put in the jar.

I’m excited about this. I’ve already wrote a couple things down, folded them up, and put ’em in my jar. I think I’m going to put a lil’ bit of everything in my jar… happiness, worries, good times, bad times, hopes, daydreams, random thoughts, etc.

And… I guess I don’t look at what’s inside the jar until the night of December 31, 2014. Eeek! I’m going to decorate my jar. I’ll paint it. Maybe add some sparkle. Perhaps I’ll write some quotes on it. Maybe Bible verses. πŸ™‚
And I’m going to cut a lil’ opening in the lid on my jar, too. So that way I’m not taking the lid off each time I write something.

I will show pictures of my jar when it’s decorated. I can’t wait to fill it up! πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Hand soap for 50 cents ::: “jar project” for 2014

  1. This sounds so fun to do! πŸ™‚ (You can always put them on a couple of scrapbooking pages when you’re finished with the a title similar to “2014 & The Things it held ” πŸ™‚ YAY for clearance !!!! (I shop those ALL… and I mean ALL the time) πŸ™‚

  2. Have fun with the jar, that does sound like an interesting thing to do. I have a friend who is doing 365 days of Thanks, she thought it was a better idea than just the month of November, so each day she’s taking a picture and posting something about thankfulness.

    I love clearance everything. Especially soap that smells good.

  3. The jar project sounds so wonderful. I bet it will be overflowing with notes by the time the year is up, and what joy to then go through them all and see the past year in a whole new way. I might just try that myself, if i find the time this year (haha).

    I’m so glad you found the soap you liked on sale. I love catching sales. It is much harder to do here, but I remember it from back home and it always made my day so much happier.

Leave a Reply

