086. Sickness = bleh. ::: My 26th Birthday. ::: feeling blah.

Bleh. I have been sick since the day after Christmas. I came down with either a really, really bad cold or the flu. 😦

I’ve had… fatigue, queasiness, achy teeth & gums, itchy ears, a headache, achy bones, and a fever. It’s been a tough couple of days. I’ve also lost my voice and have had the sniffles. Well, thankfully it’s worked out where I’ve worked less this week, so I can work on recovering. I haven’t had to call off, but I did have to leave about 2 hours earlier than my shift’s end on Saturday, which was the day my voice was pretty much gone. My voice has slowly been coming back.

The symptoms have been coming and going… and coming and going. Hopefully they’ll go away completely soon.

On a more positive note, yesterday was my 26th birthday. Eeek! 😀 😀 😀

My parents and I took a drive, and we ate at Max & Erma’s for my birthday meal. Yum. I love their chicken tortilla soup. I could live on that stuff… well, as much as my digestive system could take.

Then, the three of us ate cake & ice cream at my apartment. I wasn’t really up for doing much else, since I was still feeling sick yesterday.

The birthday cake. Yum. I had vanilla cake this year with chocolate ice cream.
The birthday cake. Yum. I had vanilla cake this year with chocolate ice cream.
Posing for the "blow out the candles" shot, even though they're already blown out. :P
Posing for the “blow out the candles” shot, even though they’re already blown out. 😛
And me laughing because of it.
And me laughing because of it.
I really need to spread my decorations out and dress up that wall.
I really need to spread my decorations out and dress up that wall.

I did have a work meeting to attend at Panera last night.  We learned about some new items coming with our next celebration, starting on Wednesday, January 1st. Coming fast!

Yes, I find it funny how we feature “comfort foods” like pasta, chocolate and danishes, grilled cheese, and Christmas tree cookies for Thanksigiving and Christmas. Then, right when January begin, we turn the page and talk about all the popular salads we have, new soups and healthy options we offer. You would think that people have thought of changing their diets on January 1st before. 😉

I am definitely looking forward to eating our turkey chili. It’s not the yummy steak chili that Panera had two years ago, but the little bit I tried last night of the turkey chili was delish! 😀

My managers and coworkers were very sweet to me last night, and they all sang “Happy Birthday” to me. First time that’s ever happened at any of my jobs. And everyone was asking how I was feeling and told me to continue feeling better. It was really nice. 🙂

Well, I have a couple more errands to run, and then I’m heading straight back to my apartment to relax and hopefully get rid of more of this sickness! I was thankful to have today off work, too. I needed it.

4 thoughts on “086. Sickness = bleh. ::: My 26th Birthday. ::: feeling blah.

  1. I hope you feel better soon. Being sick sucks in general but especially on your birthday. I also hate the new year’s healthy stuff, even among my friends and I who generally eat healthy and work out and train for races, we’re all talking about how we have to get “back on track” after the holidays! Your cake looks delicious and it was sweet of your parents to take you out to eat.

  2. I’m so sorry that you have been sick, so have I. But I am getting better now and wish the same for you. However, it is very nice that you were still able to have a good birthday with your family and that your coworkers celebrated with you when they could.

Leave a Reply

