070. Days 10, 11 & 12 ::: Thirty Days of Thankfulness ::: donating blood, Veteran’s Day, first snow

Good afternoon, y’all.

I’m happy to be catching up in here and posting the latest three days of my Thirty Days of Thankfulness series. I’m enjoying this. It makes me think about how much I do have in life, and being thankful for the big and little things.

And… here we go! 😀

Day 10 – Thirty Days of Thankfulness

I am thankful for Veteran’s Day, which was on Monday, but on Sunday at church we honored our veterans, and it was wonderful learning about what people I see at church did to protect our freedoms and rights that we definitely take for granted.

“God Bless America.”

Pastor Randy went around the sanctuary to let all of our veterans tell a brief description what they did... we had a lot of different descriptions. Everything from messaging, to building bombs, to fighting combat.
Pastor Randy went around the sanctuary to let all of our veterans tell a brief description what they did… we had a lot of different descriptions. Everything from messaging, to building bombs, to fighting combat.

nov6

Thank you to everyone who defended our country! We wouldn’t be here without you.

Day 11 – Thirty Days of Thankfulness

On Monday… I was thankful for another opportunity to donate blood! 🙂

I first donated blood when I was 18 years old. I was a seni0r in high school. I had a really bad experience with donating in spring 2006 (the nurse had a bad aim and missed. Ouch. :(.) which scared me out of donating for 3 years, but in spring 2009 I began to donate again when I was a sophomore in college, and I’ve tried to donate when I can ever since. I’ve actually lost count on how many times I’ve donated, but my guess would be somewhere between 20-23 times. 🙂

As I mentioned several posts ago in September, my veins are small, and the last few blood drives I’ve been to, the nurses have had difficulty finding a good vein. Thankfully, I haven’t been dismissed for this, but I know that’s a possibility. The nurse who took care of me yesterday checked both of my arms three times, and she finally found a good vein in my right arm. She even asked another nurse to check both arms. Whew. That was a close one.

I donated at a Methodist church yesterday, but I donate wherever… schools, colleges, churches, offices, and malls. The only place I don’t like donating is on an American Red Cross bus. *shivers* The last time I donated on a bus was in 2010, I believe, and it’s not very comfortable. Tiny space, narrow aisle, close proximity, and someone gets up to walk, the bus shakes, which makes it really difficult not to move your arm. So yeah… I don’t do the buses anymore.

I can donate again after January 7, 2014, IF they can find a good vein for me to donate. I sure hope so though. I’ll be sad if they can’t find one.

This is me in September. I got a t-shirt. I haven't gotten a lot of "prizes" lately for donating, but I've gotten coupons, a free pie, and I've been entered in drawings before.
This is me in September. I got a t-shirt. I haven’t gotten a lot of “prizes” lately for donating, but I’ve gotten coupons, a free pie, and I’ve been entered in drawings before.
Yesterday.
Yesterday.
This was in June of this year, and it was the Salvation Army Kroc Center.
This was in June of this year, and it was the Salvation Army Kroc Center.

Day 12 – Thirty Days of Thankfulness I am thankful for our first snowfall today. It was a minor one, but it was beautiful, actually.nov13

And it begins.
And it begins.

Until next time, bye.

