051. Labor Day = family day ::: blood drive ::: summer days ::: frozen yogurt ::: pet sitting

Happy Labor Day!

It’s been a really good day for me so far. Summer days don’t appear to be leaving us anytime soon, even though I am ready for autumn days to start. I wore autumn colors at church yesterday…

sept5

Well, my Labor Day started very well. I woke up at 5:45 to watch some of my first season of 7th Heaven DVD set and hydrate myself pretty good. I drank lots and lots and lots of water, because I needed to since I had made an appointment for another blood drive. The last time I donated blood was June of this summer, and I was actually eligible to donate again on August 21, but I decided to wait a little bit and donate on a good day for me.

sept2
sept7

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

sept6

I hadn’t received any “prizes” lately when I’ve donated, but this time they were handing out free T-shirts which made me happy. Free stuff is always cool.

If I wish, I am eligible to give blood again on October 28th. πŸ˜€

After the blood drive, I went over to my parents’ house, and the three of us went out of town to meet up with my grandparents and aunt Ruth. We had a nice time! We had lasagna with cole slaw, watermelon and canteloupe and water for lunch! Yum. It was nice to sit down with family for a meal again. Sometimes apartment life gets to be pretty secluded.

We’ve been talking a good amount of the afternoon…

Grandpa, grandpa, mom and dad, and aunt Ruth.
Grandpa, grandpa, mom and dad, and aunt Ruth.

And… we also treated ourselves to some frozen yogurt… or “fro yo” as some call it. A lot of frozen yogurt places have been blooming in Ohio. That seems to be the next big thing around here. They seem to be slowly exceeding ice cream places. I recently first tried a “fro yo” eatery in my town, called OH-YO. It was delish! πŸ˜€

This afternoon, all six of us went to Orange Leaf. It was very similar to OH-YO, but it had a couple more flavors and then lots more toppings. Yummy! And it was a nice bright atmosphere. Lots of people kept coming in and out.

OH-YO and Orange Leaf are “weigh and pay” restaurants where you serve yourself, and then you pay based on how much you put in your bowl. And OH-YO has bright green walls with a green and purple theme, whereas Orange Leaf has an orange and green theme. OH-YO has silver lightweight chairs, and Orange Leaf has thick white and orange chairs. Pretty neat!

sept14

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had a combination of cake batter and snickerdoodle yogurt. I topped it with peanut butter, Hershey's chocolate syrup, buckeys, cookie dough bites, and rainbow sprinkles. Hehe.
I had a combination of cake batter and snickerdoodle yogurt. I topped it with peanut butter, Hershey’s chocolate syrup, buckeys, cookie dough bites, and rainbow sprinkles.
Hehe.

On Friday night, I had the opportunity to do some house and pet-sitting for my new pastor and his wife, Randy and Jamie. πŸ˜€

They needed a dog sitter for one night, and a couple people from church recommended me, so that was pretty cool. The dogs’ names are Scout and Dodge. They’re cuties! I’m starting to really like small dogs. I’ve grown up with big or medium dogs, and I’m starting to like the idea of having a small dog someday, whenever my pocketbook allows.

Aww. And I still went to work while doing this, but it was nice to change my routine.

sept10

 

sept11

 

Byes… for now.

2 thoughts on “051. Labor Day = family day ::: blood drive ::: summer days ::: frozen yogurt ::: pet sitting

  1. I’m kinda jealous of your fro-yo. I haven’t been out for it in a couple weeks, it’s always tempting but I’m trying to stick to the budget and just eat here at the house. Lately I do protein shakes and make em really thick to be like ice cream just so I can get the protein in. We don’t have Orange Leaf here but I have heard that it’s the better of all the chains and they have lots of topping options as well as vegan and dairy free varieties πŸ™‚

    Glad you had fun dog sitting!

  2. I love fro-yo!!! A lot. But the only places we have near us is a place called Yogenfruz or Rita’s in the Village at Sandhill which is about 15 minutes away from me. It is really pricey though 😦 Happy Labor Day! Hard to believe it is September already! Where has this year gone?
    I sent out a card to you today! It will be the last “summer” card for a whole year! πŸ™‚ When I gave blood in 2007 I also recieved a T-Shirt. Unfortunately I no longer have it because of “wear and tear” (It was white with red letters on it). I plan on donating before I get my next tattoo. When you get tattoos you have to wait a year before you can donate. My last tattoo was in March of this year…. So I’ll probably donate in April of 2014 and get my tattoo later that month! πŸ™‚ (That actually is not too far away… 7 months…)
    I hope you’re doing well and I look forward to finally catching up and reading your entries (because I’ve missed a few)

Leave a Reply

