049. Ten Facts about the year 2006 ::: a look at my high school graduation

Wow! Two posts in a row? I am slowly making progress in getting back into writing! I do want to post more, and I’ve been getting ideas on blogging, which I’m happy about.

 

Well, I am doing something a little different in here today. I actually got this idea from my blogging friend Amy. A few weeks ago, Amy was writing in her blog about how it’s been ten years since she graduated high school. In her post, she did a list of random facts that took place in 2003, which was her graduation year.

Although I’ve only been out of high school for seven years, I thought that was a cool idea to write about, so I thought I’d do an entry on random facts about 2006. But I didn’t want to do it without giving Amy credit for the idea.

😀

But yes, 2006 was the year I graduated from high school. My parents and grandparents were at my graduation.

The exact date was Sunday, May 28, 2006.

grad6

 

grad2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

grad5

 

grad4

 

 

 

 

 

 

grad3

 

 

 

I actually did not start college in 2006… I took a year off and began in fall 2007. So, I did not graduate college until 2011. But that’s okay. The year off between high school and college was definitely what I needed. And I really believe that everything happened at the right time for me.

I was VERY happy to graduate from high school. I didn’t care for high school all that much. However, graduating from college was really sad for me. I do miss college two years later, and I am hoping for the chance to return to school someday, even if that is really nerdy.

 

So… without further ado, I have found a good list of random facts and events that took place during 2006, my high school graduation year.

 

 Ten Interesting Facts About the Year 2006

1. Celebrities Britney Spears and Kevin Federline were the “popular couple” and also the popular breakup of the year.

2006

2. Facebook opened to anyone over 13, with a valid e-mail address. (I personally didn’t join Facebook until Nov. ’07)

2006f

3. The most popular Christmas gifts, toys and presents were the Nintendo Wii, Elmo TMX, Dora the Explorer Dolls, and the game Apples to Apples.

4. Popular movies of 2006 included: Cars, Night at the Museum, Pirates of the Carribbean: Dead Man’s Chest, and The Pursuit of Happiness.

2006a

5. English-language Wikipedia reaches its one millionth article, Jordanhill railway station on March 1st.

6. Construction begins on the Freedom Tower for the new World Trade Center in New York City on April 27th.

2006b

7. Space Shuttle program: STS-121 Mission – Space Shuttle Discovery launches on July 4th.

2006c

8. ‘Croc Hunter’ Steve Irwin dies from a sting ray attack in September.

2006d

9. Crocs became popular and quite the fashion statement during this year (in my opinion, crocs have looked like shower shoes!).

2006e

10. Signs of water found on one of Saturn’s moons (the planet has 31 known moons!).

2006g

Stay tuned for an upcoming “Ten Interesting Facts about 2011” post… my college graduation year. 😀

2 thoughts on “049. Ten Facts about the year 2006 ::: a look at my high school graduation

  1. Love this post :). I still remember when only college students could be on Facebook. Sometimes I think there should be a higher age limit, like at least being out of high school, to be on the site. But then again some adults don’t know how to act online either.

    I also remember when, in my early years of college, wikipedia wasn’t seen as a valid source for a paper or an article, but a hard-bound encyclopedia was!

    2006 was a good year 🙂

  2. 🙂 Cool post! (And because I also graduated in 2006 (2 days before you did) I can appreciate this even more! I will do a post like this probably when our 10 year hits! I can’t wait to attend the reunion (Ours is actually a whole day. In the morning and afternoon it is for family (KIDS can attend) and the second part at night is for the adults only)

Leave a Reply

