047. Church ::: cookout with parents ::: negative art photos ::: pet-sitting ::: fun shopping.

Okay. Let’s try this again. I just lost my entire post, but I am determined for it to be fully written and POSTED. I am out running errands right now, including heading to the laundromat, but I thought I would stop by the library and return some books, as well as make an entry. So, here we go! 😀

I’ve been pretty busy with work, spending time with my parents, church and other things. I was pet-sitting for my parents for two weeks. They returned from Florida last Tuesday. I had a lot of fun watching Cocoa & Precious. I actually forgot how long of a commute it was to & from work. I’m glad that I live closer to Panera now, but spending two weeks outside of my apartment had the “getaway” feeling.

"Good morning," says Cocoa. "I know you're awake. It's time for my walk."
“Good morning,” says Cocoa. “I know you’re awake. It’s time for my walk.”
And... I'm sure that Precious has it pretty rough when she sleeps all day. :P
And… I’m sure that Precious has it pretty rough when she sleeps all day. 😛

My parents brought me back this ceramic turtle from the trip. I’m still trying to think of a name… of a name, of a name.

turtleturtle

I’ve been getting into turtles a lot lately. I have a turtle necklace. I would like to own a real turtle someday… after I have enough money to do so, and I want to do more research on them before I do buy one. My mom said that the ceramic turtle sorta looks like Crush from Finding Nemo. 😀

While I was pet-sitting, I did get to take a stroll around Brookside Park and engage in the peace and quiet atmosphere of watching the ducks and the sunset.

Beautiful.
Beautiful.

On Sunday evening, my parents & I enjoyed a nice little cookout, with summer ending pretty soon. We had steak, hot dogs, corn, potato salad, and tator tots. Everything was super yummy! Yes, summer is coming to an end really soon, but I am very excited about autumn coming… not to mention fuzzy PJ pants, hoodies, changing-colored leaves, and ahhh, I can’t wait until autumn. 😀

But first… here are pictures from Sunday.

My parents have this lovely cornfield view outside their window. :D
My parents have this lovely cornfield view outside their window. 😀
Everything was delicious.
Everything was delicious.

 parents3

Hehe. Post-braided hair.
Hehe. Post-braided hair.

Also… my mom and I had a lot of fun playing around the negative art for taking photos. Lots of laughs there.

negative2

negative1

negative3

Cocoa and her "beady little eyes." Haha.
Cocoa and her “beady little eyes.” Haha.

Well, today is payday for me. Yippies! And since I’ve been doing a really good job with abstaining from shopping for fun for quite awhile, I decided to reward myself this morning, since I had a little bit of cash leftover. Yay.

I bought this matching purse & wallet set at Wal-Mart.
I bought this matching purse & wallet set at Wal-Mart.
And... I also got myself "Now That's What I Call Music, Vol. 45" and some new pens. So, for the "Now" CDs, I now have vol.'s 25, 40, 45 and 46. No way can I collect all of them though. Just the good ones. ;)
And… I also got myself “Now That’s What I Call Music, Vol. 45” and some new pens.
So, for the “Now” CDs, I now have vol.’s 25, 40, 45 and 46. No way can I collect all of them though. Just the good ones. 😉

And last but definitely not least, I will give an update on church. We have a new pastor! On Sunday, August 11th, Pastor Randy and his wife Jamie were officially voted in at Evangel AG. We had a meet & greet event on Sat., Aug 10th.

I took some pictures, but I actually did not get any pictures of Pastor Randy & Jamie or their daughters Kennedy (12) and Cassidy (10) yet. I figured that should probably wait a little while, you know? Give them a chance to actually move into the church, first. 🙂

Yeah. I was pretty tired on that day, but I wanted to come anyway and check it out. I'm glad I did. It was definitely worth it. :D
Yeah. I was pretty tired on that day, but I wanted to come anyway and check it out. I’m glad I did. It was definitely worth it. 😀

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Food.Food...

meetandgreet4

I’m really happy to see this transitional time at Evangel AG. I’ve been going to Evangel for 1.5 years, and I’ve been blessed with the ministries of Pastor Mark & Carol until August 2012, and now with the ministry of Pastor Matt, our interim pastor until the end of this month. 🙂

 

 

This is Pastor Mark & Carol and I at the end of summer 2012.

biblestudy

Pastor Matt has been our interim pastor for the past year. I do not have a decent picture of him yet. This Sunday, however, will be Pastor Matt’s last one at Evangel. There will be a meal in his honor after the service… and then Pastor Randy & Jamie will be transitioning into their ministry here.

So… there’s lots going on at Evangel. I’m looking forward to seeing what God does next for the church. There hasn’t been a lot for single people at this church, or any single’s groups, but I have been blessed with getting involved with the Bible studies and learning a lot from the sermons, which I’ve sure taken a lot from.

3 thoughts on “047. Church ::: cookout with parents ::: negative art photos ::: pet-sitting ::: fun shopping.

  1. I guess staying at home for 2 weeks when pet sitting did kinda feel like a getaway, even if you still had work and stuff. Plus you saw your pets! I’m glad you like your church and have found one you like. Most churches lack singles groups, I’ve found (not from going to a bunch of churches, just from working in the industry I’m in). Usually it’s kids that bring young couples back to church.

Leave a Reply

