041. Storms, storms, storms, and heat ::: Abraham Lincoln & Fourth of July ::: time with family… and ducks! ::: pen-paling.

I’m still alive. I promise. There’s just been a lot keeping me from my blog lately.

For one thing, we’ve had A LOT of thunderstorms, as I mentioned a couple weeks ago. Thankfully, we’ve had a small break from them this week. But for awhile, it felt like I was in Florida with it being completely sunny in the morning, a thunderstorm arriving in the afternoon, and the rest of the evening being pretty calm. But it wasn’t Florida. Because… there were no palm trees.

Well, we did have a Tornado Warning last week. It was on Weds. July 10th, around 4:30 p.m.. It was the first one in quite a long time, actually. No tornado actually touched down; however, there was a weather report of some “spinning” action found just north of me, which was really creepy. I can handle thunderstorms, as well as some respectable wind, but as soon as they mentioned “spinning” and all the tornadic signs began, that’s when I started freaking out. 😦

The temperature had dropped from 90 to 65 in about an hour, and the disappeared in seconds. The darkest clouds hovered over in a still position, and then everything changed. The winds started. Lightning was getting frightfully close, and the “tornado sirens” had been initiated. As I said before, nothing touched down as far as a tornado… but we did have some trees fall down. My apartments lost power for approximately 29.5 hours.

I took the advantage of going over to my parents while I was without electricity. That was a nice time. I also had some time with The Cocoa and Precious. 🙂

july14
july15
july16
july17

I was relieved when the power came back on. Looking back now, it didn’t seem to be too long. Maybe the humidity caused it to seem long.

A couple weeks ago, I had this wonderful view of the sky while coming back from my parents’. It reminded me of one of the verses from the hymn “It is Well.”

"The clouds be rolled back as a scroll. The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend; even so, it is well with my soul."
“The clouds be rolled back as a scroll. The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend; even so, it is well with my soul.”

On Tuesday, July 2nd I had the opportunity see a “character” of President Abraham Lincoln deliver The Gettysburg Address at the public library for all who came. It was pretty awesome to see! I think it’s neat when people study specific people from the past and can pull it off when they deliver speeches of them.

Yes, Abraham Lincoln was definitely one of my favorite presidents to learn about in school. I know he wasn’t perfect, just as none of our leaders of the past were. But he was definitely one of the greatest leaders, and I’m really happy that I attended the presentation of The Gettysburg Address, even though I’m sure the original one given by the real Lincoln would’ve been a lot more to see. 😀

july5
july6

"It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us — that from these honored dead we take increased devotion to that cause for which they gave the last full measure of devotion — that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain, that this nation under God shall have a new birth of freedom, and that government of the people, by the people, for the people shall not perish from the earth.” - from The Gettysburg Address
“It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us — that from these honored dead we take increased devotion to that cause for which they gave the last full measure of devotion — that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain, that this nation under God shall have a new birth of freedom, and that government of the people, by the people, for the people shall not perish from the earth.”
– from The Gettysburg Address

For the Fourth of July, I didn’t really do too much. I worked and I did enjoy a nice meal with my parents. And then, I needed to get to bed early that night for work the next day. Yes, you read that right. I missed out on seeing the fireworks. You know adulthood has definitely entered your life when sleep becomes more important than seeing the fireworks. 😦
I’ll make it a priority to go next year!

Well, lately I’ve been getting back into writing in my journal. I’ve missed journaling, and it’s been wonderful getting back into it. I’ve been writing with my pink fuzzy pen. Fuzzy stuff can sometimes help with getting ideas down on paper more, as well as feeling the inspiration. I’ve enjoyed my personal writing moments again. I need to do more, for I am really behind! 😀

july26

In other news, I have received an awesome homemade card and a couple surprises from my pen pal and friend . I have a small handful of pen pals, and this is what I got from Mel yesterday. I wish I was this good at handcrafted things. Well, maybe one day I can be. These types of things take practice. 🙂

Pretty!
Pretty!

july25
july28

Well, this week I’ve been dealing with a cold and sore throat. Bleh. So, besides working at Panera, I’ve just been sorta keeping to myself.
I played around with the different color settings on the camera yesterday.

I call this one… Normal vs. Negative, until I think of a better title. 😛
july10
july11

And… I think I look scary in negative art. I may give myself nightmares. 😦
july12

Also yesterday, my parents came over and we ended up eating at The Barn again, where we first ate a couple weeks ago. It was fun! We all got burgers, fries and salad bar. It was a lot of food. I ended up taking my fries home.

It was funny when we were leaving, because I was noticing that there were a lot more ducks. Although they look precious in these two pictures, I have found that just one or two French fries (no more than that, I promise) causes them to trample over each other and cause a stampede! Haha. I WISH I would’ve caught that on the camera, but it was hilarious in person. I’m still gigglinh about it about 24 hours later. 😀

july20
july18

Have a wonderful Wednesday evening!

2 thoughts on “041. Storms, storms, storms, and heat ::: Abraham Lincoln & Fourth of July ::: time with family… and ducks! ::: pen-paling.

  1. Power outages for that long can be a real pain— especially if there is a lot of food in the fridge and freezer (although usually food in the freezer stays cold for more than 24 hours, and it can be wise to stick some of your fridge stuff in the freezer to keep it cold).
    Tornado Warnings can be scary. Happy none touched down though.
    Abraham Lincoln (although we never lived in his era) was one of the most influential (in my opinion) presidents we’ve had. One of my favorites. 🙂
    I would enjoy hearing the Gettysburg address. I remember a Wishbone episode where he dressed up as Abraham Lincoln and gave the address.
    I haven’t been journaling as much. I have so many journals, that I have been trying to get them together-via importance and events.
    I love your pink fuzzy pen 🙂 Cute.
    I am so glad you liked your gifts. 🙂 They brought happiness into your heart, and a smile on your face, and those two things are amazing to have 🙂

    I hope you have a great day! 🙂
    -Mel

  2. I don’t like power outages, but thankfully we don’t experience many here. I think since so many people live in this area they’re pretty good about making sure our power is up. My parents’ house use to have them all the time when I lived at home too!

    I did see fireworks on July 4… they weren’t super late here, like 9 PMish, so not bad. I did go to bed fairly early though since I had to work the next day but I mostly slugged through work. The joy of a desk job, I guess.

    That guy at the library really does look like Abraham Lincoln.

Leave a Reply

