040. The Barn with my parents ::: storms rolling in, rolling out ::: summer fun-ness.

Happy Tuesday, y’all!

My weekend was really good! On Saturday morning, I worked and then in the afternoon, my parents and I ate at The Barn. It was the first time for either of us. It was a lot of fun! The restaurant was an actual barn at one time, and you could tell that a lot of “local residents” eat there. I will say right now that I did not capture any photographic moments inside The Barn on Saturday. But I will next time… whenever we go back next.

The Barn had a lot to look at while you were eating. A lot of farm tools and equipment hanging around the restaurant, lots of pictures, and all of the waitresses and hosts had the old-fashioned Amish dresses and tennis shoes for their uniforms, which I thought was pretty neat. It definitely gave you that “back in time” feel. šŸ™‚

It was a lovely afternoon with my parents.

And... there it is! I was happy to get this picture before the storms began rolling in!
And… there it is! I was happy to get this picture before the storms began rolling in!

The parents.
The parents.

Me... with Mr. Bear. Rawr!
Me… with Mr. Bear. Rawr!

Pretty flowers by the fountain.
Pretty flowers by the fountain.

Beautiful house turned into a gift shop!
Beautiful house turned into a gift shop!

I didn't buy this mug since it was expensive, but I love the quote on this. I'm actually learning how true this is in my life. It's a hard lesson to learn, but it is the truth.
I didn’t buy this mug since it was expensive, but I love the quote on this. I’m actually learning how true this is in my life. It’s a hard lesson to learn, but it is the truth.

And... here's me playing around with a light-up "pointer" in the kids section at the other gift shop!
And… here’s me playing around with a light-up “pointer” in the kids section at the other gift shop!

Haha! There were water guns so that you could just get this life-size moose wet, just for fun... and silly me, I'm expecting the moose to sing, dance, or do some kind of motion-sensored movement. And... nothing. It's just a display thing.
Haha! There were water guns so that you could just get this life-size moose wet, just for fun… and silly me, I’m expecting the moose to sing, dance, or do some kind of motion-sensored movement. And… nothing. It’s just a display thing.

And... we witnessed some duck crossing upon leaving the premises. :)
And… we witnessed some duck crossing upon leaving the premises. šŸ™‚

On Sunday, I went to church and relaxed for most of the day. Rested. Felt EXTREMELY rested at the end of the day, which is how Sundays should be. Here’s a picture I took of myself before leaving for church…

Sometimes I think I look older in black & white photos.
Sometimes I think I look older in black & white photos.

And… I shall end this with some storm clouds. We’ve had storms rolling in, and storms rolling out a lot lately. It’s lovely.

Rummmbllle. Thunder. Lightning. Rain. šŸ˜€

june58

2 thoughts on “040. The Barn with my parents ::: storms rolling in, rolling out ::: summer fun-ness.

  1. It’s rained and stormed nonstop here all summer. Craziness!

    I think I’ve eaten at that restaurant. When I was in Ohio, in Springfield for a work visit at my first job, we ate at a barn style restaurant with a gift shop. It wasn’t super close to Springfield though, we drove for it. It was good, I remember that much, and really neat with a cow inside or something weird. Anyway, it looks like a cool place and looks like you guys had fun there! I love any restaurant with a gift shop inside- have you ever been to Cracker Barrel?

    1. Yes, I have eaten at a Cracker Barrel many times! So delicious! I love their gift shops. My parents and I have stopped at them to and from Florida road trips. You see a lot of them on the freeways! I honestly can’t remember what my favorite meal is there. They have yummy pancakes though!

      Ahhhh, I remember you going through Ohio during your first job! Wow. Was it really that long ago??

Leave a Reply

