039. Storms! ::: rain, hail ::: loving summer so far! ::: blood drive ::: blessed.

Good afternoon!

In my previous blog entry, I forgot to share the unintentional smiley face that was in my blueberry granola parfait that I from the grocery store the other morning. 😀

I promise that this was truly coincidental. I didn't do the eyes or mouth.
I promise that this was truly coincidental. I didn’t do the eyes or mouth.

 

Well, I am loving my summer so far. Lately I’ve been afraid that I wouldn’t find many things to write; however, I’m finding a little bit of things to write, which I’m very thankful for.

 

We’ve been getting a lot of thunderstorms lately. It’s been nice, actually. The rain is good for the plants and grass, and it’s nice hearing that little “rumble” or thunder in the background every now and then. Plus, we have already experienced some humidity this week, so the storms have helped in the temperatures cooling down a little bit.

I don’t deal with humidity all too well… it’s quite a contrast from wind chill in the winter. 😛

 

Yesterday we were under a severe thunderstorm watch until midnight, but for us the “watch” was with us for a couple of hours… and the storm itself lasted about 20 minutes.

The rain was VERY relaxing yesterday. Watching it just brought calmness. ^__^

Rain is very difficult to capture in photos, but I was able to get this nice look at it!
Rain is very difficult to capture in photos, but I was able to get this nice look at it!
And... no, that's not snow. During the "severe thunderstorm watch," we got some HAIL!!
And… no, that’s not snow. During the “severe thunderstorm watch,” we got some HAIL!!
I had not held a piece of hail since I was a teenager, and so this was really nice to see again. :D
I had not held a piece of hail since I was a teenager, and so this was really nice to see again. 😀

 

 

Today’s been my day off work, and I’ve been keeping pretty busy since I woke up this morning. I went to the laundromat first thing, which took a good 2.5-3 hours itself, and after coming back and putting all my laundry away, I finally ate some lunch and relaxed for a couple of hours.

And then, I paid my rent and electric bill. I love crossing important things off my to-do list!

And then I took a shower, and I had the opportunity to go to another blood drive this afternoon! 😀

 

The last time I donated blood was in April, and I’ve actually been eligible to donate again since June 5th, but today was actually  the best time for me to donate. A lot of the blood drives in my area take place in the morning, and I’m either working in the morning, or I don’t feel hydrated enough to donate in the morning hours. I know that for me personally, the afternoon is a better time for a blood drive.

I was happy to have found out about the blood drive that was from 2-6pm today. And I prefer afternoon/early evening blood drives, because I like to have the full day to hydrate myself (Seriouslly. I drank A LOT of water and juice today!). I am a morning person most of the time though.

This was one of my favorite blood drives ever! It wasn’t busy at all, being in the middle of the day, and I got through the sign-in, the questioning (as well as temp., BP and iron check), the donating, and the cookie-eating (my favorite part!), all within one hour. That’s rare. Usually, depending on how many donors and nurses there are, it takes me a good two hours or so to get through. But I thought it was pretty cool with how quick everything was today! I felt like a ninja! 😀

I took some pictures at the blood drive, since I went at a quiet time.

 

june31

 

 

june30june29

Daffodils!!
Daffodils!!
Beautiful chapel!
Beautiful chapel!
I love looking at stained glass windows! This one reminds me of the stained glass work in the chapel at MVNU. :)
I love looking at stained glass windows!
This one reminds me of the stained glass work in the chapel at MVNU. 🙂

june38

I love wearing the red bandaged tape! :D Rawr!!
I love wearing the red bandaged tape! 😀
Rawr!!
Yum! I had two cookies, some OJ and some Coca-Cola.
Yum! I had two cookies, some OJ and some Coca-Cola.
My next eligible date!
My next eligible date!

 

Awww. My first blood donor card is coming to an end. Three more slots! I started this card seven years ago in 2006! :D
Awww. My first blood donor card is coming to an end. Three more slots!
I started this card seven years ago in 2006! 😀

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have a wonderful Wednesday evening, y’all! 🙂

One thought on “039. Storms! ::: rain, hail ::: loving summer so far! ::: blood drive ::: blessed.

  1. 🙂 Giving blood is always so great! I won’t be able to give blood again until next year. (Just an FYI, If you ever get a tattoo you have to wait a year to donate). We’ve been getting rain and thunderstorms too. And we’ll be getting it for the next week! I love the rain IF IT COOLED US DOWN… but it is SOOO MUGGY after it rains, that you just want to stay inside and stay cool.
    YAY for being able to pay your rent and electric bill… all at one time. I wish we had that luck. Our rent/electric bill charge is $200.00 a month at Chris’s parents’ which is not bad. At our other place our mortgage was $387 a month and $500 a month for our electric bill :/

    Well I hope you have a great day! I’ll be having a semi-busy day tomorrow, so I might get in a quick blog entry before Friendship Friday! Have a great weekend Becca! 🙂

    -Mel

Leave a Reply

