032. Perkins with parents ::: school project from 8th grade ::: feeling sympathy for Oklahoma

It’s been a really good Wednesday so far. I love Wednesdays!

This afternoon, I finally bought a new pair of shoes for work.

may45

        I know that they don’t look the “coolest,” but they were pretty comfortable when I tried them on, and I’ve been in need of new shoes for awhile. I’m just a huge procrastinator! I really like the “new leather smell” on shoes. That goes away quickly though when you work at a restaurant. Haha.

 

 

 

 

Well, yesterday for supper I met up with my parents at Perkins. Yum!

I had the pot roast, and my parents ordered omelettes for "breakfast." This reminds me of when I worked at Perkins up at Cedar Point three years ago. :)
I had the pot roast, and my parents ordered omelettes for “breakfast.”
This reminds me of when I worked at Perkins up at Cedar Point three years ago. 🙂

I love the blue “kids drink” that you can get, even if you a twenty-something adult. ^__^

 

 

After Perkins, my parents & I got pie for dessert, and we ended up renting a movie, and we talked, as well as watch coverage of the tornado destruction in Oklahoma. 😦

I know that Ohio can get a lot of tornadoes, but I really feel for people who live directly in tornado alley.

When I went to Evangel University in Missouri (definitely part of tornado valley!) from ’07-’09, we had a tornado warning in January 2008. It was the night after my parents had dropped me back off at college after Christmas break. And I ended up staying in my friend Chelsea’s dorm room, because she lived on the first floor, and I was on the fourth floor. I loved living on the fourth floor, but that night I felt extreme comfort being on the first floor. And I remember that night, the RA’s and RD woke us all up around 2:30 a.m. to join together in the hallway.

We. Were. Tired… especially since there was no school yet, until later that week, so we all stayed up until at least 11pm or so.

I was a little nervous. That was the “first” major tornadic storm that I’ve been in. I’ve been in situations close to it in Ohio, but a tornado definitely touched down that night in Springfield, MO.

It steered clear of the campus. It was a minor one… like an F1, I think. I heard the Krispy Kreme sign was demolished. Thank goodness, there were no injuries or deaths.

And I know, even though there are shelters and places you can go for when a tornado comes your way, that there’s really no way to be 100% prepared for it. I just feel for those who lost everything. That’s definitely one part of life that no one can imagine until they themselves have dealt with losing everything and seriously needing to start over. 😦

Earlier today, I pulled out a school project that I made for English class, back when I was in the 8th grade. I loved doing this project! It was a lot of fun, and to this day, I do pull it out every now and then and look at it. Travel back to memory lane with me…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This could, in a way, be considered a form of a scrapbook... with more words than pictures though.
This could, in a way, be considered a form of a scrapbook… with more words than pictures though.

may47

may46

Hooray for Microsoft WordArt! Yeah... when I considered "cooking" a hobby back in 8th grade, I think I meant baking. I didn't know much of anything about cooking. ;)
Hooray for Microsoft WordArt!
Yeah… when I considered “cooking” a hobby back in 8th grade, I think I meant baking. I didn’t know much of anything about cooking. 😉
My teacher had post-it'ed her feedback throughout the project, which was really cool! I left all of her comments attached to my pages. :)
My teacher had post-it’ed her feedback throughout the project, which was really cool!
I left all of her comments attached to my pages. 🙂
I really wish that I could share my ENTIRE project with you bloggers; however, it is a big project, so I will just skip to my favorite part... "The Tree of Life."
I really wish that I could share my ENTIRE project with you bloggers; however, it is a big project, so I will just skip to my favorite part… “The Tree of Life.”
I really enjoyed coloring this page in! I thought for awhile on who I was on the tree of life...
I really enjoyed coloring this page in! I thought for awhile on who I was on the tree of life…

may49

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think that since I was a student in middle school, I’ve experienced life from everyone’s perspective on this tree. Maybe that topic itself can be a blog post sometime. 🙂

Well, I’m happy that I pulled this project out today. It was so nice to just travel back to middle school days… back when life was a lot more simple for me. Of course, my life isn’t that bad at all now. It just seems like what I thought was impossible to do back then is considered nothing, compared to the challenges I face today. Haha!

I have thought about adding to this project since middle school… but then, I’ve decided it’s better to leave alone and maybe start a new project, from a 25-year-old’s point of view, and compare notes. 🙂

Have a wonderful evening!

2 thoughts on “032. Perkins with parents ::: school project from 8th grade ::: feeling sympathy for Oklahoma

  1. Awww! Going back through older pictures, and projects is always fun! I do it all the time, just for memory sake.
    Those shoes look SO comfortable!
    I cried when I saw some of the videos from Moore OK. It was so hard to watch.
    We had a tornado here in 2007. I was working at Wet Seal then, and Chris was at his moms. (Where we live now). I called him to let him know that there was a tornado watch and winds were really bad where we were and to watch the weather. Not 30 minutes later I got a phone call from him saying they were okay, but that the town was hit really bad. The town of Elgin got an F1 that day, but because of the trees and lakes surrounding the town, the winds were that of an F2 almost F3 and the town was badly damaged and I believe there was 1 death.
    In Florida I survived Hurricane Ike. We survived 3 tornadoes the same day. I pray for those families affected.

    I hope you have a great day!
    -Mel

  2. We did a similar project in 11th grade (well, at an 11th grade level, but still). It was a poetry scrapbook. I still have mine at my parents’ house. I should probably pull it out, it was the kind of project that you did and it was hard, but you could look back on it years later and relive 11th grade. They had poems we wrote for school in them but also pictures and other things that were special to us, and at the end of the year, we had a parents night where parents could read them and see our work and enjoy refreshments.

    We had a tornado back in my hometown when I was a senior. A tobacco barn was destroyed- fortunately it was no longer in use. But it was pretty scary!

    Our Perkins has closed :(. But I remember when you worked there at Cedar Point and how much fun you seemed to have that summer!

Leave a Reply

