012. BIG winter storm? ::: Hodgepodge casserole!! ::: feeling better.

I’m feeling tons better today. On Monday, it turns out I had a combination of caffeine withdrawal, fatigue and just those normal blah’s that everyone gets.

So, we were supposed to have gone through a HUGE snow storm today.

Huge.

But… the funny thing is that I heard three different versions of the same weather report.

 

First, I heard that from Tuesday at noon to Wednesday at noon, we were under a winter advisory to get 6-11 inches of snow.
Then, on Tuesday the report changed to: from 4pm on Tuesday to noon on Wednesday, 6-8 inches of snow was the prediction.
Finally, when I left work yesterday, the NEW report said: from 7pm on Tuesday to noon on Wednesday (at least the noon part didn’t change!), 4-6 inches of snow was expected.

 

This morning I looked outside, eventually taking pictures when I left the apartment.

THIS was the BIG snow storm…

-__-

march8

I still love wearing my ear muffs though, even if it wasn’t too cold this morning. This is definitely one part of winter that I’ll miss when spring comes. I’ve had these particular ear muffs for two years, and I am just not ready t0 put them away yet.

I prefer ear muffs to winter hats any day of this season!

😀

 

 

 

In other news, when I got home from work yesterday, before the “big snow storm” (I’m actually laughing about it now!), I was very hungry, and I had decided to make an early supper. I was just in the mood for a “little bit of everything.”

Haha! So, I looked in my freezer and cupboards, and I ended up making a HODGEPODGE CASSEROLE.

It was completely random and impromptu, and I’m surprised that I actually pulled it off. 🙂

I started by cooking hamburger, and throwing in cream of mushroom soup, salt & peper, hamburger seasoning, and some chive & onion cream cheese.And some ketchup and worcestershire sauce.
I started by cooking hamburger, and throwing in cream of mushroom soup, salt & pepper, hamburger seasoning, and some chive & onion cream cheese.
And also… some ketchup and worcestershire sauce.
I layed the casserole with tortillas, and on the first and bottom layer, I threw in a can of peas and some Tostitos queso dip.
I layed the casserole with tortillas, and on the first and bottom layer, I threw in a can of peas and some Tostitos queso dip.
And then, I did the second layer of tortillas (2 tortillas per layer), poured in my hamburger mixture... and threww in canned green beans and corn.
And then, I did the second layer of tortillas (2 tortillas per layer), poured in my hamburger mixture… and threw in some pasta and canned green beans & corn.
Like I said, I was surprised that it actually turned out!I think that if I make this again (which is pretty likely!), I will leave out the pasta & Tostitos queso dip.
Like I said, I was surprised that it actually turned out!
I think that if I make this again (which is pretty likely!), I will leave out the pasta & Tostitos queso dip.
Finally, I put the final layer of tortillas on, and I topped the casserole with parsley and garlic powder.I baked this at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.
Finally, I put the final layer of tortillas on, and I topped the casserole with parsley and garlic powder.
I baked this at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was excited! And since this casserole contained almost all the food groups, I didn’t have any sides! All the sides were in the main course. 🙂 I need to be more random like this and not be afraid to create stuff. Although definitely it’s okay to follow recipes and cookbooks, it’s also acceptable to branch out a little bit and try new things. I definitely have tons of leftovers!

One thought on “012. BIG winter storm? ::: Hodgepodge casserole!! ::: feeling better.

  1. Glad you tried something new with cooking :).

    Even from the south, that doesn’t look like a big snowstorm at all to me. I mean it’s a big snowstorm for Charleston, SC, but it still doesn’t look like much. The weather people always get it wrong!

Leave a Reply

